Honoring Our Volunteers: DNA Design Committee

Volunteer_HeartIn honor of National Volunteer Week, the Downtown Neighborhood Association (DNA) of Elgin would like to recognize our volunteers who for more than 15 years have been at the very heart of DNA’s downtown revitalization efforts.

Today we are recognizing the members of our DNA’s Design Committee.

The Design Committee helps get downtown Elgin into top physical shape and creates a safe, inviting environment for shoppers, workers and visitors. The committee leverages the visual opportunities inherent in our downtown business district by directing attention to all of its physical elements: public and private buildings, storefronts, signs, public spaces, parking areas, street furniture, public art, landscaping, merchandising, window displays, and promotional materials. An appealing atmosphere, created through attention to all of these visual elements, conveys a positive message about downtown and what it has to offer.

In addition to historic preservation education and advovacy, the Design Committee also reviews all downtown projecting sign and facade improvement grants for the City of Elgin and offers free architectural consultations to new and existing businesses through DNA’s Design Resource Center.


Tom Armstrong – Chair
Besty Couture
John Hrivnak
Darlene Hulin
David Jurina
Amy Munro
John Roberson
Sarosh Saher
Dave Segel
Jerry Sorenson

On behalf of the DNA Board and Staff we thank all of our volunteers for your dedicated service.

In downtown Elgin, volunteers are in our hearts and in our DNA. We ♥ Downtown Elgin.